25 January, 2020

Counting down to the 2019 Australian Drinks Awards

Counting down to the 2019 Australian Drinks Awards

The Drinks Association is preparing to celebrate its seventh annual Australian Drinks Awards with members, sponsors and guests this week.

First established in 2013, the Australian Drinks Awards has grown to become the premier event for honouring achievement and innovation in the Australian drinks industry.

This year, an impressive 48 awards will be handed out, across Brand, Supplier and Contribution to Industry categories.

In the Supplier category, the Supplier of the Year, Most Improved Supplier and Supply Chain Management Awards will be determined via Advantage Australia’s benchmark surveys of on and off-premise retailers, with Most Improved Supplier sponsored by ALM and the Supply Chain Management Award sponsored by GS1.

There will also be three Contribution to Industry accolades awarded to Association members - the Gender Equity Award, Inclusive & Diverse Workplace Award and the Corporate Social Responsibility Award. Coles Liquor is sponsoring the Gender Equity and Inclusive & Diverse Workplace awards, while Endeavour Group is sponsoring the CSR trophy.

The top 200 drinks brands have been automatically considered for the Fan Favourite, Most Distinctive Brand and Gaining in Popularity awards, with Manildra, IRI and BevChain sponsoring the respective awards.

The glittering awards ceremony will be held on Thursday, August 22, at the unique heritage venue Doltone House Jones Bay Wharf. Situated on a restored finger wharf on the foreshore of Sydney Harbour’s Pyrmont, it features a spectacular decking area that offers outstanding views of the Harbour Bridge, city skyline and Darling Harbour.

Comedian, writer and maths whiz Adam Spencer will return as MC after successfully hosting last year’s awards.

"It's been another outstanding year of progress and achievement by our industry," said Drinks Association CEO Georgia Lennon.

“It was an incredibly proud moment for me to be in the room at last year’s event with so many dynamic and inspiring members of our vibrant industry. I can’t wait to celebrate with this year’s winners.”